Nine things I want to share about quality

I had some thoughts and discussions today with a colleague and I think some people might find these useful. All comments appreciated as always. Please forgive any spelling mistakes or strange formatting, I am writing this using the WordPress app for the first time. I will check it and fix any mistakes later. I will also add more links!

You rarely have too little information. Honestly. You probably have way to much, most of which is completely irrelevant. Be careful of this as people can use irrelevant but similar information to cloud rationality to meet their own agenda.

A good lessons learnt session is very hard. I don’t know anyone who can do them! I can’t. We can all sit round and have a coffee and a chat but if nothing changes where is the value?

No one loves your product more than you do. Stop loving your product and yourself and start loving your customer instead. As my ex girlfriend taught me (as she was breaking up with me), loving someone doesn’t just mean you go round telling them you love them. It means that you pay attention to the small things that add up to the big difference. That requires listening but mostly you have to care before you can listen properly. If you don’t care…. Don’t start. Want to know how to do it properly? Read Matt Watkinson’s book, you can buy it here

Do not rush.. Ever. I can guarantee you, you will fuck up. Yes that’s right. No one rushes and wins. This includes not skipping steps! In routes or methodologies we have the steps in an order for a reason, if we ignore these in our modern world we may as well go back to building axes from flint. I’m not recommending you sit around drinking coffee and eating cake all day instead of working, that will only give you a belly and a headache. Just be methodical in how you work and do not cut corners.

You work in quality, you are the example. Similar to the point above. Be the example, live the example. Follow the methodology correctly, do the root cause analysis properly, test things thoroughly before releasing and I could go on.

Quality costs, but not in the way you think. Everyone moans at me about how working in structured “quality ways” takes longer. I’m here to tell you all that it doesn’t. No more complicated than that. I see examples every week where I work that if those involved had used a correct method to address a quality issue they would have spent magnitudes less time and money just before fixing the issue let alone to solve it. Stop pretending it takes time. Learn how to do it without thinking and admit that the cost is more brain power. If you don’t have that, admit it and get help from colleagues.

How many is that? 6. Damn it’s nearly dinner time. Somewhere

Always promote the team. Maybe I am drifting into to generality here, or perhaps I did a long time ago. If you want to start solving problems good team work is essential. Problem solving teams are rarely high functioning as they are usually adhoc. You therefore need to be very conscious of applying good team work behavior from the start. If you don’t know about the life cycle of team dynamics and what I mean by high functioning teams get googling and do some reading. I’m too nice

Change management is common sense. Or is it? I thought so initially but then if we need people to tell us how to do it right, how can it be common sense? I like it personally and I think following models like that from Kotter do help a lot, if it is good enough for NASA….

And finally!

read my blog religiouslyI don’t believe in religion but if you do I am happy for you. Please don’t be insulted by my reference! It’s a plug, yes, and maybe I have short changed you a part of the list. We will both get over it though

What are your tips and thoughts?

Leave a Reply

